Hark the Herald …

And so, Christmas is almost upon us, and it’s time for my last musical Reflection of the year. I have yet to decide on next year’s ‘theme’. Photographs, films, books, or simply ad hoc posts based on happenings at the time. That was the form my first ‘Positives’ took on posting them when I began these over six years ago.

I’m not a religious person, but I’m partial to a good hymn or carol. In truth, carols were not all originally religious. Some date to Pagan times.

In my younger days, I enjoyed the school Christmas carol service held at the local parish church at this time of year. On two such occasions, at primary school when aged 10 and then senior school at age 13, my school selected me to read pieces from the Bible. Thankfully, I managed to avoid thunderbolts from on high during both readings. I still have the Bible inscribed to me in recognition of the second reading.

The same carol always marked the end of the service. As it happens, that carol was then and is still today, my favourite. I much enjoy belting it out.

Here it is with wishes to all for a Happy Christmas and a safe, and I hope calmer, 2022

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.